#MayaForever – Maya Angelou stamp dedication set for April 7

Written by on March 31, 2015

On April 7, Postmaster General Megan Brennan will be joined by Oprah Winfrey, Ambassador Andrew Young and other notables to dedicate the Maya Angelou Forever stamp in Washington, DC.

Maya Angelou Forever stamps may be pre-ordered now by clicking here.

The first-day-of-issue stamp dedication ceremony will take place at 11 a.m. at the Warner Theatre (513 13th St., NW, Washington, DC) and is free and open to the public (RSVP as soon as possible at usps.com/mayaforever or by calling866-268-3243 before 5 p.m. ET on April 3). Each RSVP is limited to two seats, and doors open at 9:30 a.m.

Also attending the ceremony will be Angelou’s grandson Colin Johnson; Rep. Danny Davis (D-IL); poet Sonia Sanchez; author and journalist Sophia Nelson; Howard University English professor Eleanor Traylor; poet and civil rights activist Nikki Giovanni; civil rights activist Rev. Al Sharpton; and Atlanta-based artist Ross Rossin, whose portrait of Angelou was used for the stamp. Journalist, professor and television host Melissa Harris-Perry will serve as master of ceremonies.

More information is available here, and #MayaForever is currently a trending topic on Twitter!

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track